Lucien Johnson + 5

Lucien Pic 2.jpg

West of the Sun

West of the Sun is a new acoustic jazz album to be released on vinyl and CD by Japanese label Wonderful Noise in 2017. With vintage recording techniques by master engineer Lord Echo, the album places the listener in an almost forgotten jazz world of 60s Blue Note artists such as Andrew Hill, Joe Henderson or Herbie Handcock. Johnson draws from a distinctive and unique pallet to create his vivid compositions. Featuring a top lineup of NZ musicians, this album is bound to become a landmark recording in NZ jazz.

Lucien Johnson  /  Tenor Saxophone
Jonathan Crayford  /  Piano
Lex French  /  Trumpet
Nick Van Dijk  /  Trombone
Tom Callwood  /  Double Bass
Chris O'Connor  /  Drums

Recorded Wellington 2016
Engineered and Mixed by Michael August
Mastered by Mike Gibson 

Cover Art “Three Circular Constructions” by George Johnson
Design and Layout Anns Taylor
Executive Producer Toby Laing